clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maxwell Award Will Be Watching Two Virginia Tech Players

It's time for the preseason watch list alerts!

Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

The Maxwell Award is given to the best college football player of the year.  Think of it as "Heisman 2".  The award is named after Robert "Tiny" Maxwell, who was a player,coach, and writer.  The award is voted on by sportswriters and coaches.  Every year around this time, members of the Maxwell Football Club releases a list of players it will be keeping an eye on.  This year's list includes two Virginia Tech Hokies.

Isaiah Ford, who had a record breaking 2015, and RB Travon McMillian were announced to be on the 2016 Maxwell Award watch list.  McMillian was Virginia Tech's first 1,000 yard rusher since David Wilson.  Ford is Virginia Tech's first 1,000 yard receiver EVER.  The two players combined for 18 TDs last season, and evidently the folks at the Maxwell Football Club have taken note.