clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Virginia Tech Hokie 2018 Baseball Season Starts on Feb 16

It’s nearly baseball time at Virginia Tech. Though we won’t see the Hokies play ball at, the still under construction, English Field at Union Park until February 27th, the the Hokies head to Myrtle Beach for the season opening Coastal Carolina Tournament. It’s going to be fun, again this season. New Coach, lots of new players and some returning stars, but first it’s the schedule. GO HOKIES!!!

Stevie Mangrum takes a cut in the 2017 season
John Schneider - SB Nation

It’s hard to believe, but it’s time for another sport to get underway at Virginia Tech. February is the start of College Baseball season. The first pitch for the 2018 Baseball Hokies will be at the Coastal Carolina Tournament in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on Feb 16th through the 19th. It’s more tournament work in far flung places for most of the first half month of baseball. The Hokies won’t open their home schedule games until our Prices Fork Road Rivals the Radford Highlanders (hey, the Highlanders have a seriously good baseball team, they made the NCAA Tournament last season and we didn’t) come calling on Feb. 27th. Then it’s back out on the road until we open the 2018 ACC Baseball Season against Pitt.

There will be lots of familiar faces returning to the Hokie lineup this season. That’s really good news. The new faces, however, might be the best news that we’ve had in a while. The Hokies have a new coach, John Szefc (sounds like ‘chef’). There may be some returning starters, many of whom upped their games last season, but Coach Szefc is the biggest upgrade that Whit Babcock has pulled off to date. The Athletic Director is a former baseball player from JMU, and has assured us that he’s serious about fielding a high quality well-staffed and equipped baseball program. Union Park is one of those big projects, and pictures will be forthcoming when there is something more interesting than half poured concrete structures, and piles of dirt all around.

The other project was fixing the coaching and recruiting level that just kept us out of the running in a very high level ACC League. I have mentioned it several times, but the ACC is to college baseball what it is to college basketball; one of the top Conferences in the NCAA. Competing in what is becoming another revenue sport means getting better recruiting results along with providing the facilities to field competitive baseball teams. AD Babcock has pushed hard to get his foot in the door. We had the sticks last season, but not the pitching. As we take a look at the roster we’ll see a major influx of new arms in the mix. Coach Szefc is already looking to make a mark.

Tech has a 55 game season schedule that is piled with away games. The last few regular season games will be played after the 2018 Commencement. There are almost no “cupcake” teams in this marathon. If we get to the ACC Tournament the team will play far into May, and even into June if the reach the NCAA and go anywhere. John Szefc got Maryland into the Tournament a couple of times; it’s not out of the question, which was the whole point of bringing him in.

It’s going to be a long haul. We’ll be working with the AD Media guys for access and game pictures. There will be lots of things to report, and we’ll be there with wraps for games, and who knows, maybe well get to talk to some folks on the record. It’s going to be a great season for Hokie Baseball; but we have to start somewhere.

Virginia Tech Hokie 2018 Baseball Schedule

Date Opponent Location
Date Opponent Location
Coastal Carolina Tournament
Fri, Feb 16 / 4 pm at Coastal Carolina Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Sat, Feb 17 / 4:30 pm vs. South Alabama
Sun, Feb 18 / 2 pm vs. Oklahoma
Mon, Feb 19 / Noon vs. Kansas State
University of New Orleans Tournament
Fri, Feb 23 / 1:30 pm vs. Iowa New Orleans, La.
Sat, Feb 24 / 3 pm at New Orleans
Sun, Feb 25 / 10 am vs. Ball State
Tue, Feb 27 / 4 pm Radford English Field at Union Park
Stetson Tournament
Fri, Mar 2 / 7 pm at Stetson DeLand, Fla.
Sat, Mar 3 / 1 pm vs. Purdue
Sun, Mar 4 / 7 pm vs. Central Michigan
Tue, Mar 6 / 4 pm vs. Wagner
Wed, Mar 7 / Noon vs. Central Michigan
Fri, Mar 9 / 4 pm Pitt ACC English Field at Union Park
Sat, Mar 10 / 1 pm Pitt ACC
Sun, Mar 11 / 1 pm Pitt ACC
Wed, Mar 14 / 4 pm Bryant
Fri, Mar 16 / 6 pm at Georgia Tech ACC Atlanta, Ga.
Sat, Mar 17 / 2 pm at Georgia Tech ACC
Sun, Mar 18 / 1 pm at Georgia Tech ACC
Wed, Mar 21 / 4 pm Marshall English Field at Union Park
Fri, Mar 23 / 4 pm at Boston College ACC Chestnut Hill, Mass.
Sat, Mar 24 / 2 pm at Boston College ACC
Sun, Mar 25 / Noon at Boston College ACC
Tue, Mar 27 / 4 pm Liberty English Field at Union Park
Thu, Mar 29 / 4 pm NC State ACC
Fri, Mar 30 / 4 pm NC State ACC
Sat, Mar 31 / 1 pm NC State ACC
Wed, Apr 4 / 6 pm Dayton
Fri, Apr 6 / 6 pm at Virginia ACC Charlottesville, Va.
Sat, Apr 7 / 4 pm at Virginia ACC
Sun, Apr 8 / 1 pm at Virginia ACC
Wed, Apr 11 / 6 pm at Marshall Charleston, W.Va.
Fri, Apr 13 / 6 pm Louisville ACC English Field at Union Park
Sat, Apr 14 / 7 pm Louisville ACC
Sun, Apr 15 / 1 pm Louisville ACC
Tue, Apr 17 / 6 pm at Radford Radford, Va.
Wed, Apr 18 / 6 pm Old Dominion English Field at Union Park
Fri, Apr 20 / 6 pm at Notre Dame ACC South Bend, Ind.
Sat, Apr 21 / 2 pm at Notre Dame ACC
Sun, Apr 22 / 1 pm at Notre Dame ACC
Wed, Apr 25 / 6 pm at VMI Lexington, Va.
Fri, Apr 27 / 6 pm Duke ACC English Field at Union Park
Sat, Apr 28 / 3 pm Duke ACC
Sun, Apr 29 / 1 pm Duke ACC
Tue, May 1 / 6 pm VMI
Wed, May 2 / 6 pm at Liberty Lynchburg, Va.
Wed, May 9 / 6:30 pm at West Virginia Morgantown, W.Va.
Fri, May 11 / 6 pm Miami ACC English Field at Union Park
Sat, May 12 / 3 pm Miami ACC
Sun, May 13 / 1 pm Miami ACC
Tue, May 15 / 6 pm William & Mary English Field at Union Park
Thu, May 17 / 6 pm at North Carolina ACC Chapel Hill, N.C.
Fri, May 18 / 6 pm at North Carolina ACC
Sat, May 19 / 2 pm at North Carolina ACC
A Tough Marathon for Hokie Baseball Information from Hokie Sports

Next Up: The position player roster review.

GO HOKIES!!!!

It’s a rebuild and revamp year.

English Field being rebuilt into Union Park
John Schneider - SB Nation